aesmael: (transformation)

(obviously I start with this one because it is the oldest. we'll talk about that problem some other time.)

As the first item in my list of anime to watch, I figured I may as well get on with sourcing it. How does that go?

Quickflix: no results, so I'm not subscribing to them yet.

Madman: no results, but then I'd rather not buy something on DVD without knowing if I like it - the space it would occupy is a bigger reason to hesitate than cost in the long run.

CrunchyRoll: yes, but region-locked so that I can't watch it (same with Hulu).

Fishpond: incomplete copy of the series on region 1 DVD.

Amazon: incomplete copy of the series on DVD, region-locked, and reviews suggest the series will not be getting a complete DVD release.

Pirate Bay: complete copy of the series available with subtitles.

That's five failed attempts to watch this via corporate-approved means. Tried to pay money to watch this, but the only way to see the whole show is a free torrent or circumventing region blocks on CrunchyRoll or Hulu.

aesmael: (it would have been a scale model)

A while back I asked for some recommendations on anime to watch, mainly because I feel I have a much better handle on English language productions to watch, whereas a lot of contemporary interest in anime bypassed me for various social and financial reasons. Well that is true about a lot of other media, but those have more easily drifted to my awareness.

Here's where I'm at now, although further recommendations continue to be welcome.

Currently watching:
Simoun

Watched:
Akira; Ghost in the Shell; Serial Experiments Lain; Perfect Blue; Haibane Renmei; Berserk; Excel Saga; Spirited Away; Kiki's Delivery Service; Howl's Moving Castle; Laputa: Castle in the Sky; Porco Rosso; The Secret World of Arrietty; Afro Samurai; Samurai Champloo; Spice and Wolf; Darker Than Black; Azumanga Daioh; Last Exile; Fruits Basket; Blood: The Last Vampire; Ergo Proxy; Eden of the East; ...

Partially watched:
Sailor Moon; Dragon Ball Z; Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex; Cowboy Bebop; ...

To Watch (based on opportunity, remembered favourable reviews, or recommendations):
Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex; Cowboy Bebop; Moribito; Dennō Coil; Madoka Magicka; Evangelion; Patlabor; Martian Successor Nadesico; Those Who Hunt Elves; Full Metal Panic; Fullmetal Alchemist; Noir; The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya; Fairy Tail; FLCL; Irresponsible Captain Taylor; Galaxy Express 999 (things by Leiji Matsumoto); Royal Space Force: Wings of Honneamise; Record of Lodoss War (OVA); Nadia: The Secret of Blue Water; Birdy the Mighty ('90s OVA); Outlaw Star; Kare Kano; Trigun; Hellsing

Originally published at a denizen's entertainment. You can comment here or there.

Looked in on ABC3 a few nights ago, which I had not done in many months. They had some show on called Vampire Knight, and from the description I was thinking it would be similar to The Worst Witch so I decided to try watching an episode. Surprised to find it is actually a dubbed anime series as I hadn't thought that to be the sort of thing they air.

Seems to star a girl called Yuki who attends Cross Academy and works as a guardian protecting the Day Class (humans) from students in the Night Class (vampires). Even though the plot I think doesn't much resemble either it kept putting me in mind of a Harry Potter x Twilight situation. Mainly, I suppose, because we have a supernatural sort of school with a changing roster of mysterious teachers, and a girl as protagonist who is constantly being attacked and seems entirely incapable of protecting herself, needing an assortment of male characters to step in and save her.

I had a very hard time believing she is really supposed to protect other students at that school, since she seemed barely able to protect herself from a papercut, and my announce was compounded by other characters needing to explain to her what seem to be very basic aspects of the setting. Maybe my expectations were badly set, but I had been kind of hoping for some sort of active, clueful protagonist. Would be tempted to dismiss it as badly written, but perhaps it is a well-written example of something I don't like? From what little I've seen so far, the story feels claustrophobic and emotionally dangerous, in ways that make me think I might be better off avoiding it in future.

Originally published at a denizen's entertainment. You can comment here or there.

Did I mention a while ago that I was going to investigate Death Note on account of it airing here? Well, I did, and I decided not to watch because I dislike Light and didn't want to watch umpteen episodes of him getting away with his actions (I had a rough idea of the overall arc goes).

More recently I've been wondering if maybe I want to watch it after all, the better to enjoy seeing him suffer and die. Sometimes I wonder what that says about me, and sometimes I don't care.

aesmael: (haircut)
Yesterday was the first full day for aimed-at-children network ABC3. I ended up watching a fair bit of it, since there were superhero cartoons I was curious about. Also Skyland, which as far as I can tell is Star Wars but intend to keep watching anyway in case maybe it actually isn't.

The other shows were all based on Marvel Comics franchises (and bear in mind almost my only exposure to comicbooks is from cartoons like these, live action films, television series and [livejournal.com profile] lost_angelwings). First, okay, first was The Spectacular Spider-Man on a different channel which is fun, but I can never seem to tell where in the series we are.

Later was Wolverine and the X-Men, which I had already watched most of so this time around is more to fill in the gaps than anything else. I prefer to call it 'The Wolverine Show' and although it is not bad, have a lot more fun talking about with [livejournal.com profile] lost_angelwings than watching alone. Like the time Shadowcat phases through ice into the ocean during a battle and isn't seen again for several episodes.

After that was The Super Hero Squad Show. I'd heard from [livejournal.com profile] lost_angelwings that she dislikes the show. After watching an episode I also dislike it. The animation was unpleasant to watch and the show itself wasn't fun to me. Reminded me a bit of Muppet Babies although maybe that show had redeeming qualities (I don't remember if it was good or bad). Maybe part of the problem is I am not fond of or attached to most of the characters, although that hasn't been a problem for me with Justice League episodes and actually I think I recognised most of the characters - Iron Man, Hulk, Thor, Storm, Ms Marvel, Wolverine, Silver Surfer... probably missed a few. Wikipedia says I missed many.

In the first episode they ended up fighting Mole Man (not the one from The Simpsons and a Japanese Kaiju movie. That sounds much more fun than it ended up being. Maybe the problem is the target audience is too young for me? I don't quite think so since it spent a lot of time being almost but not quite enjoyable, but I was a bad judge of what children would enjoy even when I was a child so maybe. There wasn't anything I saw on Wikipedia suggesting what age group it was targeted at though.

Iron Man is Batman, apparently. His mouth moves when he talks (as does Doctor Doom's) and that bugs me.

Hulk is Grimlock and that makes me sad.

That Silver Surfer was given a Californian Surfer accent confuses and angers me.

From what I heard I think I would enjoy seeing Ms Marvel in a different, fun context.

Last was the first four episodes of Iron Man: Armoured Adventures which I was surprised to find is my favourite of these so far. I was going to say while talking about The Super Hero Squad Show that just about anything describable with "... but as kids!" is almost bound to be bad (although they aren't actually younger in that show, the animation just makes that connection for me). Fortunately I did not, since this show stars a teenaged Tony Stark, Pepper Potts and James Rhodes.

In this version Tony's father Howard Stark was the founder of Stark Industries and killed by Obadiah Stane, who took over the company and now Tony has to attend high school.

In only vaguely related news, the final episode of Ergo Proxy played last week. It had I think a nice blend of resolution and openness at the end, and I was quite fond of a lot of the devices used during the latter part of the series. Tomorrow they begin broadcast of Death Note in the same timeslot, which is handy since as [livejournal.com profile] infinitely_late may recall, I did not have access to ABC2 the last time it aired.
aesmael: (friendly)
This joke, it could have come right out of Excel Saga. That is a good thing.
aesmael: (sudden sailor)
aesmael: (haircut)
Look at this stuff
Isn't it neat?
Wouldn't you think my collection's complete?
Wouldn't you think they're the guys, the guys who have... everything?

They've got gadgets and gizmos aplenty
They've got whosits and whatsits galore
You want thingamabobs? They got twenty
But who cares? No big deal,
I want more...

I want to be where the S&M is
Let 'em ask me their questions and get my answers
What is a fire and why does it - what's the word - agh! burn?
When's it my turn, wouldn't I love, love to get tortured from those above?
Out of the sea...
Wish I could be...
Part of your world


Parody by Kevin Collins, so far as I know.

Profile

aesmael

May 2022

S M T W T F S
12345 67
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 2026-03-26 19:38
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios